Cannot ad more pieces.

Report bugs, registration issues, or just suggest some new features in this thread! Guaranteed to have at least 10% more dev attention than other threads!

Cannot ad more pieces.

Postby DOINKSTER on Wed Sep 04, 2013 2:51 pm

I'll bet this has been answered somewhere already but I cant find it. I am working on a competition and am very close to a solve but my design will not let me add any more pieces. I do not want to show my design but here are my stats. I can delete a piece and then add another. I move rods and joints but cannot ad any more pieces. I have only used 119 pieces total. Thanks for any help.
Last edited by DOINKSTER on Wed Sep 04, 2013 3:02 pm, edited 5 times in total.
User avatar
DOINKSTER
 
Posts: 160
Joined: Sat Nov 15, 2008 10:24 am
Location: Hillsboro Oregon

Re: Cannot ad more pieces.

Postby DOINKSTER on Wed Sep 04, 2013 2:51 pm

Trying to fix the link.. Sorry.
User avatar
DOINKSTER
 
Posts: 160
Joined: Sat Nov 15, 2008 10:24 am
Location: Hillsboro Oregon

Re: Cannot ad more pieces.

Postby rianbay812 on Wed Sep 04, 2013 3:00 pm

That looks like an FC2 link

in any rate, FC1 has a 120 piece limit, but that limit includes the goal ball, so if there is one ball, 119 is your limit
User avatar
rianbay812
 
Posts: 1814
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2009 5:55 pm
Location: Tacoma-ish, Washington

Re: Cannot ad more pieces.

Postby DOINKSTER on Wed Sep 04, 2013 3:02 pm

Oops... Thanks..
User avatar
DOINKSTER
 
Posts: 160
Joined: Sat Nov 15, 2008 10:24 am
Location: Hillsboro Oregon

Re: Cannot ad more pieces.

Postby dmasters on Wed Sep 04, 2013 6:40 pm

Gambit comp?
User avatar
dmasters
 
Posts: 252
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2008 6:44 am
Location: My mancave

Re: Cannot ad more pieces.

Postby rianbay812 on Thu Sep 05, 2013 6:20 am

I don't feel like starting another thread,
http://www.fantasticcontraption.com/?designId=11947606 what happened here? I haven't seen this glitch before
User avatar
rianbay812
 
Posts: 1814
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2009 5:55 pm
Location: Tacoma-ish, Washington

Re: Cannot ad more pieces.

Postby djbreslin on Thu Sep 05, 2013 6:25 am

If you make a static piece really really REALLY big, the physical edge will be closer to the center than the edge you can see.

Another example by me: http://www.fantasticcontraption.com/?levelId=522944 (100,000 ID's ago)
User avatar
djbreslin
 
Posts: 202
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2009 9:52 am
Location: Io, a moon orbiting Jupiter

Re: Cannot ad more pieces.

Postby dmasters on Thu Sep 05, 2013 7:22 am

Heh, my favorite example of this is Confucius by knexrule100.
User avatar
dmasters
 
Posts: 252
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2008 6:44 am
Location: My mancave

Re: Cannot ad more pieces.

Postby zhyrek on Thu Sep 05, 2013 8:45 am

That is brilliant and I now want to make cool levels that (mis)use that
User avatar
zhyrek
 
Posts: 3508
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2009 4:11 pm
Location: RPI

Re: Cannot ad more pieces.

Postby dmasters on Thu Sep 05, 2013 8:49 am

Wow, I thought this glitch was more widely known... Many levels have used and abused this already
User avatar
dmasters
 
Posts: 252
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2008 6:44 am
Location: My mancave

Re: Cannot ad more pieces.

Postby zhyrek on Thu Sep 05, 2013 8:58 am

Does it have to be a circle? :/
User avatar
zhyrek
 
Posts: 3508
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2009 4:11 pm
Location: RPI

Re: Cannot ad more pieces.

Postby dmasters on Thu Sep 05, 2013 10:11 am

Yes
User avatar
dmasters
 
Posts: 252
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2008 6:44 am
Location: My mancave

Re: Cannot ad more pieces.

Postby zhyrek on Thu Sep 05, 2013 11:53 am

Welp, so much for all my good ideas
User avatar
zhyrek
 
Posts: 3508
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2009 4:11 pm
Location: RPI

Re: Cannot ad more pieces.

Postby dmasters on Thu Sep 05, 2013 1:32 pm

Why? The :scircle: is so big the part that fits on the screen is almost straight
User avatar
dmasters
 
Posts: 252
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2008 6:44 am
Location: My mancave

Re: Cannot ad more pieces.

Postby zhyrek on Thu Sep 05, 2013 1:45 pm

No i wanted a long thin piece that the ends would be movable through
User avatar
zhyrek
 
Posts: 3508
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2009 4:11 pm
Location: RPI

Re: Cannot ad more pieces.

Postby djbreslin on Thu Sep 05, 2013 3:19 pm

zhyrek wrote:No i wanted a long thin piece that the ends would be movable through

Pretty sure it's a proportion thing, like the physical portion of each piece is 99% of what it looks like (so a long thin piece wouldn't work) but that's just my speculation.

Edit: This is a rectangle: http://www.fantasticcontraption.com/?levelId=619732
User avatar
djbreslin
 
Posts: 202
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2009 9:52 am
Location: Io, a moon orbiting Jupiter

Re: Cannot ad more pieces.

Postby dmasters on Thu Sep 05, 2013 3:26 pm

djbreslin wrote:This is a rectangle: http://www.fantasticcontraption.com/?levelId=619732

Heh, I guess circles are smaller than they look and rectangles are bigger than they look? The collision box and graphical display must not line up too well
User avatar
dmasters
 
Posts: 252
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2008 6:44 am
Location: My mancave


Return to Feedback and Problems



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users