new flash player problem

Report bugs, registration issues, or just suggest some new features in this thread! Guaranteed to have at least 10% more dev attention than other threads!

new flash player problem

Postby rianbay812 on Tue Jul 20, 2010 3:29 pm

not a techy so can someone help?

I cannot play the game because it says i need to download a new flash player. I already had it, but just in case, i re-downloaded it and i'm still getting the same message.
User avatar
rianbay812
 
Posts: 1813
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2009 5:55 pm
Location: Tacoma-ish, Washington

Re: new flash player problem

Postby uberman56 on Tue Jul 20, 2010 3:46 pm

Same problem Rian :argh:
User avatar
uberman56
 
Posts: 235
Joined: Thu Jul 02, 2009 2:47 am
Location: Sticking a fork in a toaster.

Re: new flash player problem

Postby rianbay812 on Tue Jul 20, 2010 3:47 pm

yeah i'm just tweaking designs i've started by going to addicting games. i also realized that the game is 50 times faster on AG. can someone tell me why that is?
User avatar
rianbay812
 
Posts: 1813
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2009 5:55 pm
Location: Tacoma-ish, Washington

Re: new flash player problem

Postby rlbabits on Tue Jul 20, 2010 3:47 pm

arg! I agree with these two swabbies! :pirate:
User avatar
rlbabits
 
Posts: 906
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2008 4:56 pm
Location: The Great Kanto Desert

Re: new flash player problem

Postby rianbay812 on Tue Jul 20, 2010 3:50 pm

User avatar
rianbay812
 
Posts: 1813
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2009 5:55 pm
Location: Tacoma-ish, Washington

Re: new flash player problem

Postby Heliwr on Tue Jul 20, 2010 5:20 pm

We have had a few people come into chat with this problem, and robotmafia has had some success directing people to clear their cache and cookies then restart their browser.

Cheers
User avatar
Heliwr
 
Posts: 237
Joined: Sat Oct 18, 2008 1:25 pm
Location: Vancouver, BC

Re: new flash player problem

Postby uuuiiiooop on Tue Jul 20, 2010 5:21 pm

Same problem for me too
User avatar
uuuiiiooop
 
Posts: 624
Joined: Sun Nov 09, 2008 2:41 pm
Location: More than five hundred thousand levels. Over eleven million designs.

Re: new flash player problem

Postby robotmafia on Tue Jul 20, 2010 5:40 pm

Hey, quite a few people have had this problem today, and in most cases, clearing your browser cache and deleting your cookies, followed my restarting your browser typically fixes the problem.

EDIT- Also, Heliwr advises the clearing of your flash cache:

Heliwr> usually it is by right-clicking in the game window and selcting settings, then zeroing local storage then setting it back to its previous setting
User avatar
robotmafia
 
Posts: 244
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 3:30 pm

Re: new flash player problem

Postby rianbay812 on Tue Jul 20, 2010 5:49 pm

ill try it! thanks. didn't know you still came on here!
It worked! thanks for your help
User avatar
rianbay812
 
Posts: 1813
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2009 5:55 pm
Location: Tacoma-ish, Washington

Re: new flash player problem

Postby robotmafia on Tue Jul 20, 2010 5:53 pm

rianbay812 wrote:ill try it! thanks. didn't know you still came on here!
It worked! thanks for your help


No problem man. It seems like it works for about 80% of the people who try it.
User avatar
robotmafia
 
Posts: 244
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 3:30 pm

Re: new flash player problem

Postby rianbay812 on Tue Jul 20, 2010 5:59 pm

However, i wanna delete the flash cache but it says i'll loose all data from fantastic contraption. Do i wanna do that?
User avatar
rianbay812
 
Posts: 1813
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2009 5:55 pm
Location: Tacoma-ish, Washington

Re: new flash player problem

Postby blegles on Tue Jul 20, 2010 6:00 pm

i too am having this problem. how do i clear cookies on a mac?
blegles
 
Posts: 908
Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2008 5:08 pm

Re: new flash player problem

Postby robotmafia on Tue Jul 20, 2010 6:02 pm

UPDATE:

<JaredR26> what browsers is FC-1 broken for?
<robotmafia> opera, chrome, IE
<JaredR26> we're working on it
<robotmafia> how long will it take?
<JaredR26> No clue, hopefully not long
<JaredR26> Earlier our webmaster tried to fix an issue with safari users
<JaredR26> Unfortunately it broke things for some other browsers. Browser consistency is horrible

Things will be up again in no time. Meanwhile, look at my other post and try those steps.
User avatar
robotmafia
 
Posts: 244
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 3:30 pm

Re: new flash player problem

Postby robotmafia on Tue Jul 20, 2010 6:13 pm

rianbay812 wrote:However, i wanna delete the flash cache but it says i'll loose all data from fantastic contraption. Do i wanna do that?


robotmafia> ok when you clear flash cache, it says you will lose all data from FC, is this bad?
<JaredR26> it will lose your auto-login stuff for fc
<JaredR26> and also your checkmarks on the levels
robotmafia> is that all?
<JaredR26> thats all we store in the cookie, yes
<robotmafia> ok

;-) no worries

blegles wrote:i too am having this problem. how do i clear cookies on a mac?


As a linux user, I can only direct you to a helpful webpage.
http://support.verio.com/documents/view ... oc_id=4069

Hope that helps!
User avatar
robotmafia
 
Posts: 244
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 3:30 pm

Re: new flash player problem

Postby robotmafia on Tue Jul 20, 2010 6:17 pm

The problem should be resolved now. If there are any further inquiries, come to the FC chatroom, or post here and I'll try to help! =D
User avatar
robotmafia
 
Posts: 244
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 3:30 pm

Re: new flash player problem

Postby rianbay812 on Tue Jul 20, 2010 6:48 pm

Big thanks to RM and Jared!
...and addictinggames for providing a fall-back option :)
User avatar
rianbay812
 
Posts: 1813
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2009 5:55 pm
Location: Tacoma-ish, Washington

Re: new flash player problem

Postby robotmafia on Tue Jul 20, 2010 6:52 pm

Hehe, I'm just the messenger, but your welcome anyways. Have fun!
User avatar
robotmafia
 
Posts: 244
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 3:30 pm


Return to Feedback and Problems



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users

cron